Entries closing soon for 2017 WA Innovator of the Year Awards

The deadline for entries to the 2017 WA Innovator of the Year (IOTY) program is fast approaching, with applications closing at 12:00pm (WST) on Tuesday 6 June.

Now in its 11th year, the IOTY program, which is run by the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer, has celebrated some of WA’s most talented innovators who have gone on to commercialise new products and services, win new markets and disrupt old ones.

This year marks the introduction of two new categories, the District 32 and Woodside Encouragement Awards and the Young Innovator of the Year Award, which is a new collaboration between the Innovator of the Year and the Just Start It programs. Just Start It, which has been running in WA since 2014, is a program designed to harness bright ideas and talent and coach high school students on how to create a Technology Start Up. Participants in Just Start It will have the opportunity to apply for the Young Innovator of the Year Award.

Award winners will share in close to $150,000 in prize money and all finalists will participate in a mentoring program providing direct access to some of WA’s most savvy and commercially-minded industry leaders.

Mark Pullen, Principal, Watermark, has been involved as a member of the Advisory Committee and judge since the WA Innovator of the Year program’s inception in 2006. He joins a group of influential and progressive individuals who comprise the current Advisory Committee, including Professor Lyn Beazley AO FTSE, Patria Jafferies, The Honourable Dr Ken Michael AC, Former Governor of Western Australia, Dr Brad Pettit, Mayor of Fremantle, and Peter Millington, CEO of ChemCentre.

Watermark can provide general advice on the program as well as the benefits of entering. Please contact m.pullen@watermark.com.au.

Alternatively, further information about the WA Innovator of the Year Program including Award categories and the application process can be found at https://www.innovation.wa.gov.au/opportunities/wa-ioty-2017.